Teaching from the Heart <3

8 Jan

Good teaching is one-fourth preparation and three-fourths theater.

~Gail Godwin

Teaching is the profession that teaches all the other professions.

~Author Unknown

When I grow a little more, I hope to become an Elementary School

Teacher. I wanted this dream job for years and cannot wait to

accomplish it.

You know how children play school?  Well, I not

only did that but, I made created imaginary

students with names. I would always teach them

what I had learned that

day in school. When my mom would ask me if I had

done my homework, I would say that I am

doing it with my class. I have created worksheets, grades, finals, and

read stories to them during class.

I would pretend that they came up to

me with issues and I would help them……I would discipline the bad

kids by moving their seat, giving them a time out, talking to them

after class, or giving them a Check mark 😀

I would give them a free day if they are good and pull out their Popsicle

stick that says their name when I need someone to answer

the question. I taught every subject to them and I even took them on

washroom breaks!!! I would assign them projects to do (such as cut out

a gingerbread man and glue it together). I would make examples for

them to see and prepare everything in the beginning of class. I would

use my books that I get from my school,

like my spelling or grammar

workbooks. I would give them math problems and

show them how to

do it. I once built an overhead projector! (it was

actually a lamp shining

on a piece of paper hung on my refrigerator in the

dark :D) It would all

always start with the first day of school and me

introducing my self. I would have parent teacher conference with their

imaginary parents. 😀 Sometimes I would include my baby dolls as my

children in the beginning while I drop them off at their school and head

to my teaching job.


I had a very creative mind and I still have it now 😀

I can use it to decorate my classroom or assign projects that help them

remember topics when it comes true someday.

I want to make a difference to my students…….

ONE CHILD AT A TIME……..



3 Responses to “Teaching from the Heart <3”

  1. dam3et 2ontha January 8, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    That is very creative Soosoo inshallah you will attain this dream soon ya rab

    Keep using your favorite teachers as an inspiration

    Love you

  2. bigfatmeanie101 February 3, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    That’s very sweet! You have the calling to be a teacher. I played school too, but I never made my own projector. Even after 20 years of teaching, I still love it and you will too. Good luck; it’s a very rewarding profession.

    • foreveryoungpoet February 3, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you very much!!! That feels very great especially coming from a teacher!! 20 years!!!! That’s a lot 😀
      But I don’t think I will get sick of it just like you.
      I hope you continue your job as a teacher because you sound really great. I would love to have had you when I was in Elementary School 😀

Leave a Reply

